The Morning Becomes Eclectic Session

Release Date: 11/15/2013 · Format: CD/LP+(CD)/DIGITAL · Catalog-No: GRCD/LP 784

was founded in Los Angeles by Josh Haden (son of bass-playing jazz great Charlie Haden). Their debut, The Blue Moods Of Spain, was released on Restless Records in 1995. Born from the same Los Angeles alternative rock scene in the early 1990s that gave rise to Beck, Weezer, and others - Spain’s music was a response to the then-current inundation of loud, aggressive guitar rock. With Blue Moods..., Spain became aligned with the “slowcore” subgenre of indie rock along with bands like Low and Red House Painters, but the band’s sound drew equally from West Coast jazz, rhythm and blues, country and '60s soul. The Blue Moods Of Spain garnered the band a devoted cult following and they toured the U.S., Europe, and Australia.

In the mid-late 1990s, several songs from Blue Moods... were featured in different films and TV shows. Film director Wim Wenders commissioned the band to write a song for his film End Of Violence. Spain’s song “Spiritual” was recorded by Johnny Cash on his Grammy-winning, Rick Rubin-produced Unchained, and by Charlie Haden and Pat Metheny on their Grammy-winning Beyond The Missouri Sky.

Spain’s 1999 sophomore CD, She Haunts My Dreams, found the band headlining large venues across Europe. A song from the album, “Our Love Is Gonna Live Forever,” was featured prominently in an episode of the HBO series Six Feet Under. The third CD, I Believe, was released in 2001, after which Haden took an extended break from the band. Restless Records released Spirituals: The Best Of Spain in 2003, signaling the apparent end of the band.

Josh Haden reformed Spain in 2007 with all-new members and began playing gigs again in their native L.A. Since then they’ve shared the stage with Tindersticks and the Clientele. May 2012 saw the European release of their first full-length album of new material in over ten years, The Soul Of Spain. The album was enthiusiastically receved by audinece and media alike.

„The Morning Becomes Eclectic Session“ a set of seven Spain classics, recorded live in the studio at KCRW radio station in Santa Monica, CA, Oct. On 4th in 2012 is more than just a gift for the fans. With the help of Josh’s three sisters Petra Haden, Rachel Haden and Tanya Haden (cello, violin and harmony vocals) it features some of the most beautiful music that has made it onto a record.

Spain will support the release of the album with another extensive tour throughout Europe in November-December 2013, hitting the UK, France, Belgium, The Netherlands, Switzerland, Germany, Portugal and - of course-Spain.

Visit Artist Site


01 Nobody Has To Know
02 Untitled #1
03 She Haunts My Dreams
04 I’m Still Free
05 Walked On The Water
06 Only One
07 Spiritual

The Morning Becomes Eclectic Sessionbuy itembuy digital