The Walkabouts

Feel Like Going Home: Cover Albums

Release Date: 12/02/2016 · Format: 3 LP Box Set + 4 CDs · Catalog-No: GRCD/GRLP 897

Besides being probably one of the best and most underestimated indie-rock bands from the United States, Seattle's The Walkabouts always delivered remarkable and outstanding cover versions. In 1993 they released "Satisfied Mind" the 1st cover album in the band’s history and truly an alternative country masterpiece. 20 years after the release MOJO Magazine elected it as one of the “best 5 Americana Albums of all times”! In 2001 the highly anticipated "Train Leaves At Eight" was released - the counterpart to "Satisfied Mind" - covering only European music from Norway to Greece.

"Satisfied Mind" was released as a single LP in 1993, maybe not the best decision for sound reasons, whereas "Train Leaves At Eight" never was released on vinyl. Both albums are now available for the first time ever remastered and on double vinyl.

As a bonus and a special gift to the fans this box includes a third double LP, the live album "Gone To Hell, Back By Eight". This album includes two recordings of two concerts from the time of creation of both "Satisfied Mind" and "Train Leaves At Eight". Remastered from the original tapes by Grammy nominee Hans-Jörg Maucksch (Pauler Acoustics Studio).

The Walkabouts - "Feel Like Going Home: Cover Albums" comes as a Deluxe box set with 3 double LPs (180 gram vinyl) plus 4 CDs. It will be released on December 2nd on Glitterhouse Records.

Visit Artist Site


Satisfied Mind:
1. Satisfied Mind (by Rhodes & Hayes)
2. Loom of the Land (by Nick Cave)
3. The River People (by Robert Forster)
4. Polly (by Gene Clark)
5. Buffalo Ballet (by John Cale)
6. Lover's Crime (by Pewee Maddux)
7. Shelter for an Evening (by Gary Heffern)
8. Dear Darling (by Mary Margaret O'Hara)
9. Poor Side of the Town (by Johnny Rivers)
10. Free Money (by Patti Smith & Lenny Kaye)
11. The Storms Are On The Ocean (by The Carter Family)
12. Feel Like Going Home (by Charlie Rich)
13. Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone (Traditional)

Train Leaves At Eight:
1. The Train Leaves At Eight
2. Man From Reno
3. That Black Guitar
4. Disamistade
5. Silenci
6. Hard Winds Blowin`
7. Everyone Kisses A Stranger
8. People Such As These
9. Wake Me Up Before I Sleep
10. Solex In A Slipshod Style
11. That`s How I Live
12. And She Closed Her Eyes
13. Death`s Threshold Step #2
14. Leb´ Wohl

Gone To Hell, Back By Eight:

Gone To Hell (live):
1 Satisfied Mind
2 Polly
3 The River People
4 Buffalo Ballet
5 Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone
6 Loom Of The Land
7 Feel Like Going Home

Back By Eight (live):
1 Train Leaves At Eight
2 Wake Me Up Before I Sleep
3 Everyone Kisses a
4 People Such As These
5 Man From Reno
6 Disamistade
7 Death's Threshold Step #2
8 Silenci

Feel Like Going Home: Cover Albumsbuy item