The Walkabouts


Release Date: 07/19/2000 · Format: CD · Catalog-No: GR 505

I think some of you lost a little interest in the Walkabouts when they signed to Virgin. Then again they gained a lot of fans by having a radio hit in Germany with “The Lights Will Stay On”. When the follow-up hit did not materialize those people abondoned ship again and the second Virgin album “Nighttown” did not sell nearly as good as “Devil´s Road”. The cooperation with Virgin became more difficult and, well, you know the rest of the story…
One of the positive things about the Virgin years simply was that there was more money to make some of the dreams the band had for quite a while come true – like touring with an orchestra.
So during the summer of `97 the Walkabouts did a short tour with the Nighttown Orchestra, an ensemble that featured 12 extra musicians and string-arrangements by Mark Nichols. The show at the Ancienne Belgique in Bruxelles in June `97 was recorded by the Belgian radio and later mixed by Chris Eckman.
Seven of the eleven tracks here are from the “Nighttown” album, two (“Rebecca Wild” and “Blue Head Flame”) are from “Devil´s Road”, “Bonnie & Clyde” was unreleased at that time and you´ll also get an epic 8-minute version of “Findlay´s Motel”.
Now everybody has the chance to hear the wonderful Nighttown-songs in a different setting, which, to be honest is an ear-opening experience. Because not only is the band in great form, the recordings also sound just great, crystal-clear and very powerful.
"Bruxelles" is packaged in a wonderful Digifile. It is only available via our mailorder and their live shows. Due to legal reasons (their contract with Virgin at the time) the release will be strictly limited.

Visit Artist Site


1. Follow Me An Angel
2. Tremble
3. Lift Your Burdens Up
4. Rebecca Wild
5. Findlay`s Motel
6. Heartless
7. Harbour Lights
8. Blue Head Flame
9. Bonnie & Clyde
10. Slow Red Dawn
11. Nightbirds

Bruxellesbuy item