Nive & The Deer Children

Feet First

Release Date: 11/27/2016 · Format: CD/2-LP (+CD) · Catalog-No: GRCD/LP 817

“Feet First” the new album by Greenlandic folk pop singer Nive & The Deer Children was recorded between 2012 and 2015 all over the world: Greenland, Denmark, Belgium and England. Also all over the United States in Tucson Arizona, Athens Georgia, Lexington Kentucky, Nashville Tennessee andAshevilleNorth Carolina. “I thought it was anamazing experience to travel while making this record. I feel that if you constantly change your surroundings and not get stuck in one place you will constantly change your perception and not get stuck with just one idea. I just wanted these songs to grow with me on my travels and they did just that.” Nive says.

“The first track on the album "Still the Same" for example would have never had that cumbiarhythmat the end without going to southern Arizonaand playing with Howe Gelb and his Tucson crew in the comfort of their own homes. Also, the same goes for songs like "Tulugaq", track four. I wrote that song along with a set of twelve year old twin girls from a foster care far up north in Uummannaq, Greenland. It was the very last song recorded for the album and would have never happened if I recorded this album traditionally in one place.”

Also, appearing on “Feet First” are artist and friends such as Howe Gelb, Ralph Carney, Teitur, and John Parish. The album will include 12 songs and be released on November 27 at Glitterhouse Records.

Facts about Nive:
- the first concert she ever played was for the queen of Denmark on national television
- she acted in the Hollywood movie The New World starring Colin Farrell
- She won an IMA independent music award in the US
- the new video “Are You Ready” was filmed in -37C weather way up north in Uummannaq, in what turned out to be the coldest winter in 30 years
- “Feet First” is her second album for Glitterhouse Records

Visit Artist Site


1 Still The Same
2 Are You Ready
3 Walking
4 Tulugaq
5 Happy
6 Slip
7 Wrong
8 Human
9 Space Song
10 Ole
11 In My Head
12 Grandma Mary